How to handle a woman

International womens day

Jackie Fleming

King Arthur sings famously in Camelot – How to handle a woman – is to love her, simply love her, merely love her. Arthur conquered kingdoms, armies, excalibre and so on, learnt all he could from Merlin the Magician, but its a woman who baffles him (ok, stretching the argument, I guess you could say Lancelot confuses things even more!).

Anyway, Camelot seems to have taken me away from my point of “Celebrate all the amazing women in my life”. There are so many – mother, grandmothers, godmother, a host (truly, host is the perfect word) of amazing aunts, beautiful friends, laughing colleagues, caring cousins, cute nieces, cuddly goddaughter, hardworking akkas, patient teachers, inspiring writers, the list just goes on. Women whose lives touch mine and I don’t even know it – farmers who transplanted the rice I eat, grew the dhal, picked the cotton, wove it into the clothes I wear. And some very special and rare men who deserve to be celebrated too!

Thank you for being a part of my life.

Ubuntu women

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

