Springing Eternal

Over the last few months, I’ve been thinking a lot about Hope. It’s a powerful word with a lot of lovely synonyms – anticipate, trust, believe, expect, aspire, achieve, endure, promise, dream. The other day, J was saying he thinks Hope is a decision to let god be in control. I hadn’t thought of it as being a ‘decision’ before. But I guess it can very easily be. What is life without hope? So here’s wishing you lots of Hope today – and a poem by Rabindranath Tagore (who obviously agrees!) to be inspired by:

NOT ALTOGETHER LOST

I know that this life, missing its ripeness in love, is not altogether lost.

I know that the flowers that fade in the dawn, and the streams that strayed in the desert, are not altogether lost.

I know that whatever lags behind, in this life laden with slowness, is not altogether lost.

I know that my dreams that are still unfulfilled, and my melodies still unstruck, are clinging to Your lute-strings, and they are not altogether lost.

(taken from The Heart of God – Prayers of Rabeindranath Tagore; edited by HF Vetter)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

